You are here: Home / Do Research / Subject Guides / Home and Garden

Home and Garden

Links to useful information on the Internet

Decorating Arrangements

Dozens of articles about interior decoration. The "Design Styles" section features information about styles such as Art Deco, Asian, French country, rustic, shabby chic, and Shaker. Includes home tours, and design ideas for specific rooms and for items, such as baskets, candles, lamps, and window treatments. From Home and Garden Television.

The link address is: http://www.hgtv.com/hgtv/decorating/0,1792,HGTV_3545,00.html

Do It Yourself Home Repair, Improvement and Remodeling

The site contains a large collection of tips, tricks, and tutorials covering a variety of subjects, from appliance care to pet care to woodworking. You can scan a list of subjects or search with keywords. There is also a free monthly newsletter.

The link address is: http://www.doityourself.com/

Epicurious

Everything for food lovers - cooking videos, recipes, articles, cookbook reviews, and information on wine and restaurants.

The link address is: http://www.epicurious.com/

The Garden Web

Here's the place to order all those gardening catalogs you love to read! In addition, you'll find lots of useful gardening information, including an extensive list of public gardens in the U.S. by state and type.

The link address is: http://www.gardenweb.com/

HGTV

Transform your home with inspiration and instruction from HGTV for your home design, decorating, landscaping and handmade craft project.

The link address is: http://www.hgtv.com

Home and Family

Home and family topics include aging, children, clothing, family relationships, housing, parenting, finances, food, nutrition and health.

The link address is: http://www.extension.iastate.edu/homefamily/

Psychology Today: Parenting Center

Collection of articles about the psychology of parenting. Subjects include adoption, division of labor, fatherhood, grandparenting, child development, communication, child abuse, child neglect, sex education, technology, discipline, and more. From Psychology Today magazine.

The link address is: http://www.psychologytoday.com/topics/parenting.html

RecipeSource (formerly SOAR)

The Searchable Online Archive of Recipes currently indexes around 70,000 recipes, including those for restricted diets, kids, special occasions - even treats for your pet. Particularly useful for browsing ethnic recipes.

The link address is: http://www.recipesource.com/

USDA Hardiness Zone Map

Will your plant survive in Iowa’s climate? Check the online version of the government publication showing the growing conditions in areas across the USA.

The link address is: http://www.usna.usda.gov/Hardzone/ushzmap.html

Wine Lover’s Page

Learn all about wine with links that include a pronouncing glossary, vineyard weather, food-wine matches, and tasting notes on over 50,000 wines.

The link address is: http://www.wine-lovers-page.com/

Yard and Garden

Provides how-to tips and gardening basics. Topics include flowers, fruits, houseplant, lawns, trees and shrubs, vegetables and herbs, weeds and pests.

The link address is: http://www.extension.iastate.edu/yardgarden/